The Torah commands Jews not to eat or possess chametz during the week of Passover. Chametz is any of the five grains—wheat, spelt, barley, oats, and rye— which has come into contact with water for more than 18 minutes.
Gluten is the protein present in wheat, rye, barley, and oats. Gluten is harmful to persons with celiac disease. Thus, celiacs seek gluten-free food.
Many—but not all—kosher for Passover products are gluten-free. Likewise, many—but not all—Passover recipes are gluten-free.
A quick review of what foods are considered off limits when keeping kosher Passover:
First off, only foods that are certified kosher are considered acceptable. The Orthodox Union or the Chicago Rabbinical Council are the two Kosher certifiers which brand certified products. Look for one of these two logos on processed foods when you shop:
Many meats are off limits during Passover. These include, but are not limited to: pork, rabbit, shellfish (oysters, mussels, crab, shrimp, lobster, etc.) and seafood without fins or scales (like swordfish, shark and catfish). Foods made from those meats — like non-kosher gelatin — are also forbidden. Other fish like Kosher certified Salmon (with rinsing) are permitted, as are Cod, Sea Bass, Gefilte fish, Tilapia and others.
If serving accepted meats, no dairy may be served with them, so no cheese or milk/cream-based sauces. Eggs are acceptable (and by the way, are not “dairy”).
Store-bought & homemade gluten free Passover foods
Take a few extra minutes the next time you’re in the grocery store and peruse the kosher section! Look for certified gluten free products or those labeled Kosher for Passover AND “Non-Gebrokts” (“Non-Gebroktz” or “Non-Gebroks”) or “Gluten Free.” The ingredients should show that the product does not include matzo as an ingredient.
When you shop, watch for all kinds of Kosher for Passover products made with potato starch instead of regular flour. Products include potato starch noodles, potato starch cake mixes, Passover cereals made without wheat, and even frozen foods like potato starch pizza crusts, blintzes, waffles and knishes.
Eggs (think quiches, omelets and frittatas) and dairy are Kosher for Passover, and many yogurts, cream cheeses, and other dairy products will bear that special certification. Other grains like quinoa are also a wonderful addition to your gluten free Passover menu.