If you’re one of 7% of U.S. adults who plan to go plant-based this year, you might be wondering: is a vegan diet gluten-free?
The short answer is no. While many plant-based foods are naturally gluten-free, some ingredients and processed vegan products still contain the protein.
But with a bit of knowledge and a few simple swaps, you can easily create a plant-based diet that’s also gluten-free, nourishing, and enjoyable.
What do gluten-free vegan diets include?
A vegan diet naturally includes many gluten-free whole foods, such as:
- Vegetables
- Fruits
- Legumes
- Nuts and seeds
- Herbs and spices
The issue really only arises when you add in whole grains–which you definitely need. Whole grains are a vital part of any healthy diet because they provide:
- Fiber
- Vitamins
- Minerals
These and other nutrients not only help control weight, blood pressure, and cholesterol levels, but assist in lowering the risk of:
- Heart disease
- Stroke
- Type 2 diabetes
- Certain cancers
While some grains contain gluten, many others (such as quinoa) are gluten-free and still packed with nutrients.
Example shopping list
Here are some staples to build your meals around:
Vegetables
- Broccoli
- Spinach
- Carrots
- Potatoes–white and sweet
Fruits
- Berries
- Apples
- Citrus fruits like oranges
- Grapes
Legumes
- Lentils
- Chickpeas
- Black beans
- Soy-based foods like tofu
Nuts and seeds
- Almonds
- Walnuts
- Cashews
- Chia seeds
- Flaxseeds
Seasonings
- Salt
- Pepper
- Basil
- Oregano
- Turmeric
Gluten-free grains
- Quinoa: A versatile complete protein for salads, grain bowls, or even breakfast
- Brown and wild rice: Excellent, gluten-free bases for stir-fries, soups, or bowls
- Millet: A mild-tasting grain that’s perfect for porridges or baking
- Sorghum: A mild, nutrient-rich cereal grain
- Amaranth: A tiny, nutrient-rich grain that lends itself well to porridge or baking
- Teff: A small grain from Ethiopia that’s high in fiber, iron, and calcium–great for hot cereal or baking
- Gluten-free oats: A popular grain for hot cereal and baking
Plant-based flours
Many grocery stores carry a wide variety of gluten-free, plant-based flours nowadays. If you love baking, look for flours made from:
- Almond
- Rice
- Coconut
- Cassava
- Tapioca
Plant-based milks
Similarly to flours, plant-based milks are widely available in numerous varieties. For cooking, baking, and enjoying gluten-free cereal or granola, opt for milks made from:
- Almond
- Soy
- Macadamia
- Oat
Other essentials
Some other kitchen essentials you’ll want to include are:
- Oils, such as olive and avocado
- Corn and corn-based products
- Nori (seaweed)
Plant-based foods that may contain gluten
Prepackaged plant-based foods can be a delicious time-saver, but some contain hidden gluten. So it’s important to check labels and look for gluten-free certifications. This can even be a problem when buying bottled condiments, such as soy sauce.
Here are some common offenders to be particularly careful when selecting:
- Plant-based meat alternatives: Products like seitan, vegan sausages, and meat substitutes may use wheat gluten as a base. In fact, seitan is made almost entirely of wheat gluten, so it’s one to avoid.
- Breaded or battered foods: Plant-based nuggets or veggie patties with breading often contain wheat flour.
- Sauces and dressings: Soy sauce, marinades, gravies, and even salad dressings can contain gluten unless labeled gluten-free.
- Oats: Oats are a naturally gluten-free grain, but they’re often cross-contaminated with gluten during processing.
To avoid hidden gluten, just make sure to:
- Read labels carefully. Look for the “gluten-free” certification–especially on processed food packages.
- Prioritize whole foods over processed, prepackaged options.
- Be cautious at restaurants. Ask waitstaff about gluten-free options and potential cross-contamination when eating out.
Enjoy a healthy, gluten-free vegan diet
Adopting a gluten-free, plant-based diet can be surprisingly simple. By checking labels and replacing grains like wheat and barley with gluten-free options, you can enjoy a healthy and diverse range of meals that are truly delicious and satisfying.
Before starting any new diet, however, consult your healthcare provider or nutritionist to make sure you’re meeting your body’s nutritional needs. Together, you can create an eating plan that works wonders for your unique body.
Carrie Solomon is a freelance health writer, web copywriter, and passionate wellness enthusiast. She’s on a mission to help wellness-focused companies everywhere educate, engage, and inspire their audiences to make the world a healthier, happier place. Learn more about her at copybycarrie.com or on LinkedIn.
References:
A Look at Plant-Based Diets – PMC
In U.S., 4% Identify as Vegetarian, 1% as Vegan.
Foods for Plant-Based Diets: Challenges and Innovations – PMC
Gluten-Free Food – an overview | ScienceDirect Topics
“Hidden” allergens in foods – Journal of Allergy and Clinical Immunology
The Gluten-Free Diet: Safety and Nutritional Quality – PMC
Gluten-Free Alternative Grains: Nutritional Evaluation and Bioactive Compounds – PMC
Food Safety and Cross-Contamination of Gluten-Free Products: A Narrative Review – PMC
Commercial oats in gluten-free diet: A persistent risk for celiac patients – PMC

Leave a Reply