Did you know that some restaurant eggs use pancake batter in the eggs to make them extra fluffy? Or that some potato chips contain wheat starch or malt vinegar? Learn more about these hidden sources of gluten.
In their purest form, oats are naturally gluten-free. However, many oats are processed in factories where cross-contamination is a concern. And in some cases, cross-contact can occur in fields where oats are grown near wheat. That’s why it’s important to look for oats that are specifically labeled gluten-free. Bobs Red Mill makes a certified gluten free oat product.
Eggs are gluten-free, but some restaurants use pancake batter (which is not gluten-free) to fluff up scrambled eggs and omelets. There’s also a risk of cross contamination when eggs are cooked on the same grill as pancakes and other gluten-containing foods.
Most of the time, potato chips are gluten-free. But some potato chip seasonings contain wheat starch or malt vinegar. Check the packaging and read the lanel to make sure your chips are gluten free.
Breadcrumbs are often used as binders or fillers in sausages, meatballs, burger patties, and meatloaf. Also remember that imitation crab and hydrolyzed vegetable protein may contain gluten.
Also make sure that you check the labels of meat substitutes, In addition to wheat fillers, veggie burgers and sausages may contain seitan, known as wheat gluten, so be sure to read the label.
Soy sauce is made with fermented wheat, and therefore contains gluten. Other condiments like salad dressings, marinades, sauces, and gravies may include soy sauce or thickeners that contain gluten.
French fries are made from potatoes, which are gluten-free, but some restaurants or manufacturers may use a gluten-containing coating to keep fries from sticking together.
Although there are a number of gluten-free brands now, licorice is generally made with wheat flour, so be sure to read the ingredients.
Leave a Reply