A new study may explain why people who do not have celiac disease or wheat allergy nevertheless experience a variety of gastrointestinal and extra-intestinal symptoms after ingesting wheat and related cereals. The findings suggest that these individuals have a weakened intestinal barrier, which leads to a body-wide inflammatory immune response. Findings from the study, which … [Read more...]
Is Spelt Flour Gluten Free?
White spelt flour comes from milling spelt an ancient grain that is a relative of wheat. It is one of the most popular and widely available non-wheat flours. The full name of spelt is Triticum aestivum var. spelta. It is a cereal grain in the wheat family that has been cultivated for thousands of years – originally in Iran, then Europe and only in the past century has spelt … [Read more...]